top of page
  • Writer's pictureMagdalena Rodriguez

Astoria, Queens, NY Restaurant Favorites

I've been an Astorian for four years now and I am completely bias in saying it is the best neighborhood I have ever lived in. Not only was it voted in the top 10 of coolest neighborhoods in the world on Time Out (I like to brag) but it has also given me the most sense of home in my life as a New Yorker so far. So yes I will listen to all my Manhattan friends tell me it's "too far away" or "they like Manhattan better" and stay in my little Astoria bubble of love and incredible food.


I have gathered a list of a few of my many favorite restaurants in the neighborhood in hopes that when we are able to dine like ye olde days of 2019, you will go stuff your face. Enjoy!

 

Let's start with the most important meal of the day...


BRUNCH


Queens Comfort

Not only is it BYOB but their funky decor and awesome live DJ make brunching an event. Great place for a day-tipsy afternoon with your friends! I also love bringing people who are visiting the neighborhood here! Long wait but it's a classic.

Monika's

At the time I started writing this Monika's was still open but sadly, they closed post-covid shutdown :( I still want to mention them though because it was one of our favorite places for Sunday brunch!


LUNCH


II Bambino

Best sandwich I've ever had. Truly no other words except go here if you are a fan of flavor and paninis. The bread is incredibly baked, sandwiches perfectly put together. This was the first place I took Marc when he moved here. You can't go wrong with any of their choices but I love the Roast Mushroom and Speck paninis.



Pye Boat Noodle

Amazing Thai food and just overall amazing vibe. Everyone that works there is so kind. The back patio is gorgeous and has a green garden kind of feel. It's such a nice place to sit for lunch.


King Souvlaki Food Truck

Ask anyone and they will tell you this food truck is WILD and so affordable. Huge portions. The most amazing gyro I've ever had. We normally get this for dinner but the gyro also makes an amazing *walk around the neighborhood stuffing your face in the summertime* kind of meal.



COFFEE (this list could go on forever)


Kinship Coffee

Their flagship location at Steinway and 30th avenue will always have my heart because it was my go-to coffee shop while subletting in that area but the larger location at Broadway and Steinway has equal amounts of charm with a lot more space and even some food options. Their almond-honey lattes are spot on and they also have fun teas to try in the winter time. It's my favorite place to go sit and get some work done!



Gossip Coffee

I always laugh because Gossip is usually where I meet up with friends for a coffee date to do just that. They recently changed into a cocktail bar at night? Haven't tried that yet but their coffee drinks are amazing as are their overnight oats. Cute decor and overall fun place to sit with friends.


DESSERT

Chip NYC (obviously)

I don't really know what to say about Chip other than JUST GO. If you're riding the Levain Bakery train, this will blow your mind. I'm including a picture here for reference. They come out with new flavors every couple months and I don't think I've ever left disappointed. I could start a fan club.


Ample Hills

Right across the street from Chip so if you're feeling fancy, buy two cookies and put the ice cream in the middle to create a 7,000 calorie monster cookie sandwich. Not that I've done that or anything. Truly though, their flavors are unique and fun. The ice cream is so creamy, as I believe true ice cream should be, so I definitely recommend coming here on a hot summer day! Oh and try the pretzel cone!



DINNER


Seva

Their lunch special is incredibly cheap and delicious BUT I do love coming to Seva for dinner. It's classic Indian food and whether it is takeout or dine in, their food is incredible. When I was trying the whole vegan lifestyle thing, I came here frequently because they have a lot of yummy vegan options. Come here when you're hungry because the portions are huge! Always room for leftovers!


Ovelia

Ovelia has an awesome happy hour - $5 Sangria, yummy! They also have a pretty romantic ambience so this is one of my favorite date night places. Their homemade pita and hummus is my favorite appetizer. Skirt steak is incredible, greek salad, honestly anything. You can't go wrong with Greek food in Astoria.




El Mariachi

Being Mexican from Arizona, I am very picky with my Mexican food. I had yet to find authentic Mexican food for at least a year into living in the city until I ate at El Mariachi. Their margaritas will knock your socks off for one but two, their food is so authentic and delicious. I recommend the Enchiladas Suizas or the Carne Asada Tostadas. They also make their own horchata which is amazing.




DINNER/NIGHTLIFE


The Strand

I'm honestly not sure if they are still open post-covid either BUT if they are, this is one of our favorite places for cheap drinks, bbq and live music! It is one of the largest restaurant spaces I've seen in NYC which means there is always a lot of space to sit and no wait times. We love coming here in the summer or winter. The food is always so delicious and you can get a G&T for $5.


Omonia

We rarely come to Omonia for anything other than a 10pm or after hours burger and fries. They have a classy diner kind of feel if that makes sense. Their menu might be longer than the Cheesecake Factory's and their ambience is perfect for a late night, kind of tipsy, piece of cake. They've been there for ages which mean it's delicious!




Sweet Afton

This place is so nostalgic for me. The first year I lived in NYC, I think my friends and I came here at least once a week. In the wintertime, they have spiked hot apple cider which is incredible. Their food is pretty delicious too but I do go for their dirty pickle martini or any of their other seasonal craft cocktails.




BARS (I miss them)


Sekend Sun - Their brunch isn't my fave but it exists. The Queens sign in the back is iconic and their nighttime vibe is fun. Also it's basically across the street from my house which makes the walk home even better.


Diamond Dogs - Dark, small and really great cocktails.


Judy Punch - Good music, cheap happy hour, good times y'all.


The Highwater - To-go margaritas in a juice pouch. That's all.

 

Hope you find your way over to Astoria in the near future to try some of these goodies!


xoxo

Mags



48 views
bottom of page